Weekly Roundup from League Secretary Peter Williams

M.B.A. Cup - 1st Round

Friday night saw the first round of the cup and with Garndiffaith and Pontyfelin failing to raise a team Pontymister Athletic and Monmouth were also awarded byes into the second round. Chepstow beat Bedwellty Park, Beaufort beat Rhymney Royal, Six Bells won at Blaenavon, Bedwas beat Belle Vue, Caldicot won at Llanhilleth, Blaina beat Pontnewydd and R.T.B. Ebbw Vale won at Pontypool Park Girlings to make up the last 32 in round two. The draw for round two will take place at Beaufort this afternoon (26th May) by our President Dave Willing.

W.B.A. Carruthers Shield

Section 17
Cwmbran won at Garndiffaith to win this section.

Section 18
Rhymney Royal won at New Tredegar but Beechwood failed to raise a team, therefore Blackwood win the section.

Section 19
Panteg Park lost at home to Croesyceiliog which left Bedwellty Park as winners of this group.

Section 20
Whiteheads bounced back from defeat in their first game to win the section after defeating Pontymister Athletic. Pontypool Park Girlings also won in this section yesterday.

Section 21
R.T.B. Ebbw Vale won at Crosskeys to take the section and qualify for the knockout stages.

Section 22
Wins for Beaufort and Machen meant Beaufort take the section, an obvious disappointment for Machen who were semi finalists last year.

Section 23
Ynysddu in buoyant mood recently came unstuck at home to Six Bells, who take the section and qualify.

Section 24
Oakdale beat Gilwern in the section but as reported last week, Brynmawr had already secured the top spot here.

Section 25
St. Julians won at Llanhilleth to win this section.

Section 26
Chepstow won at Ebbw Vale to qualify from this group.

Section 27
Blaenavon came out on top in the decider with Abergavenny to qualify.

Section 28
With Pontyfelin failing to raise a team, Blaina take the section to qualify.

Congratulations to our twelve qualifiers and good luck to you all in the knockout stages, lets bring the shield back to Monmouthshire.

Peter Williams
M.B.A. League Secretary